Sign Up

or continue with facebook:

Thomas Mercier

Hometown: Phoenix, AZ
Favorite Bike: My Fuji Altimira, but any bike I'm on will do
Sign: Aquarius

What attracted you to Eliel?

The cool colors and quality. I love that the shorts are on the longer side. The inclusiveness if that makes sense. Looking at the materials of the kits but the fit for us "normal" folks

What about bikes brings you joy?

Getting outside, the speed and the challenge. Most importantly is the camaraderie of cycling. I've made so many friends from cycling.

What are your goals for the future? On and off the bike...

Off the bike, just doing my best at being a good person. On the bike, keep challenging myself, do epic rides, and make more cycling friends.

What is important to you?

Being happy in what I do. From work, social life and cycling, I find the joy in all of it.

Thomas' Story

I grew up in Southern California with the amazing weather that comes with it. When I turned 13 my dad bought me a computer, which could have sent me on an entirely different path, but it didn't work out of the box. So when we returned it we exchanged it for a Fuji Del Rey bike. I rode the hell out of it as a 13 year old would do. My sister had a friend that was a serious cyclist and introduced us. He took me out for my first hard ride (up top of the world in Laguna Beach, ouch) I cramped so bad I couldn’t get out of my pedals. I was hooked!! That same year I got my first high performance machine. That friend taught me everything I know and a philosophy about cycling that I hold to this day. You can ride hard but still have fun and be inclusive. From there, I started racing into my early 20's. Then... cycling and life started getting harder. I still rode for fun but by the time I got to my 30's I just couldn't. Turns out my kidneys decided they really didn't like working anymore and at 41 I needed to find a new one. My sister was lovely enough to donate and within 3 months of my transplant I was back on the bike. I was slow, could barely hang with the beginner groups, but the group I rode with had the same philosophy I was taught as a teenager. I got stronger and stronger, and eventually started leading the group rides from the A group. Helping people both advanced and beginner to enjoy the sport of cycling. Doing exciting challenges, enjoying the scenery. There's a balance and skill in making a ride challenging for everyone but also inclusive to all types. Now I ride to share the word about Kidney Disease and Transplant and Muscular Dystrophy. In 2017 I got my coaching certification, so now I help other improve their performance as well, both in cycling and triathlon.

my bag

Your cart is currently empty.

Sub–Total$ 0.00

secure checkout continue Shopping
Cart